National Lollipopper Day Announces Winners


Alison Hammond and Churchill Insurance celebrate the vital role of Lollipoppers across the UK with the Lollipopper of the Year Awards 2016

To coincide with National Lollipopper Day, 29th November, the five award winners have been announced, as well as the highly commended runners up

29th November 2016 – Today marks the first National Lollipopper Day to celebrate the amazing Lollipop men and woman across the UK. To coincide with this special day, Churchill Insurance has announced the winners of its inaugural National Lollipopper Awards, honouring the hard working Lollipop men and women keeping children safe on the school run.

Alison Hammond opened the nominations last week, giving parents and children across the country the chance to tell Churchill why their local Lollipopper should win one of four special awards:

Over and Above – the dedicated Lollipopper that goes beyond the call of duty to help children, parents, their school and the local community.

Bravest – for the Lollipopper that has shown courage and bravery on the crossing – Super Lollipopper! 

Entertainer – for the Lollipopper that always puts a smile on everyone’s face – the life and soul of the crossing!

Kindest – for the Lollipopper with the biggest heart – generous, kind, caring and always on the crossing with a smile!

Lollipopper of the Year– the most prestigious award for the best all round Lollipopper.

After a tough decision by Churchill’s expert judging panel; Alison Hammond, Churchie, Mike Bristow from road safety charity Brake, Emma Williams executive director at PTA UK and Carrie Longton co-founder of Mumsnet, the winners and highly commended shortlisted Lollipoppers have been announced.

Over and Above – The Winner of the award goes to Bettie Ealand from Tewkesbury CE Primary School in Gloucestershire. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Patricia Lunney, Linda Robertson and Sarah Gabriel.

Bravest – The Winner of the award goes to Elaine Hockley from St. George’s Bickley CE Primary School in Bromley, London. The highly commended Lollipopper in the category was Samantha Martin.

Entertainer – The Winner of the award goes to Herbie Lloyd from Battling Brook Primary School in Hinckey, Leicester. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Carole Stokes and Sharon Salter.

Kindest – The Winner of the award goes to Linda Robertson from Morley Newlands Academy in Leeds. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Martin Smith and Carole Stokes.

Each of the four category winners received a bespoke Churchill Lollipopper Awards trophy to mark their achievement as well as a £500 holiday voucher to treat themselves to a well-deserved break during the upcoming school holidays.

On the winners, Alison Hammond said: “It’s been a difficult decision to choose the overall category winners, as we had such a fantastic response from parents and children all keen to celebrate their hardworking Lollipoppers. I wish we could reward all of them for the time and effort they put into keeping our children safe on the school run!”

The most prestigious title up for grabs was the Lollipopper of the Year, won by Carole Stokes from Barwell Infant School in Leicester. The celebrated Lollipopper was chosen from the shortlist of highly commended Lollipoppers. This week Alison Hammond and the school children of Barwell Infant School surprised Carole whilst at work.

Alison said, “Surprising Carole whilst at work was such a blast. It was so hard to choose the overall Lollipopper of the Year, as there were so many fantastic entries, but Carole stood out as a real star and pillar of the local community. The children and I were very excited to be able to reward her and it’s so fantastic to see the love and support she receives from the school and parents. It was such an emotional morning!”

Carole Stokes has worked as a Lollipopper for two and a half years and described receiving the honour: “Wow! I feel very privileged to have been nominated by the wonderful children and families of Barwell and it’s so touching to have won!” her favourite part of being a Lollipopper is seeing all the children each morning and getting to know the parents, she states that, “Every day is special!”

Head Teacher Mrs. Sarah Carey of Barwell Infant School describes Carole as someone who“brightens up everybody’s day each and every day with her smile, cheer and of course her ‘Flip Flops’ and bright pink hair!!! Whatever the weather her love and care for the children and the whole Barwell community shines through.”

The National Lollipopper Awards are part of Churchill Insurance’s drive to improve safety on the school crossing by deploying more of the iconic crossing wardens. The campaign follows research by Road Safety Analysis in 2016 that over half (55%) of accidental child pedestrian casualties occur during the school run.

Lucy Brooksbank, head of marketing at Churchill, said; “The first Churchill Lollipopper of the Year awards have been a huge success with hundreds of nominations flooding in from across the country. We hope this will help highlight the value Lollipoppers bring to our communities and the hard work these incredible people do.”

To support Churchill’s Lollipopper camping and find out how you can become a Lollipopper, please visit:

Share the Lollipopper love on Twitter and Facebook by following @ChurchillTheDog and using #Lollipoppers or on Facebook at

Image by Lewis Clarke

Join our parenting group

FREE parenting and babywearing support

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by Seva
Get FREE access to our magazines!
I agree to have my personal information transfered to ConvertKit ( more information )
Get access to our latest and back catalogues of our babywearing magazine! Each issue we cover varying aspects of using a baby carrier, from safety to pictorial how to’s. It doesn’t matter if you are a complete novice or professional, we have something that will suit everyone. All this for FREE!
We hate spam. Your email address will never be sold or shared with anyone else.
scroll to top